The cerebrum is the largest part of the brain. Its outer surface is covered by the cerebral cortex .

The brain in its entirety is, together with the spinal cord, part of the central nervous system. It can be divided into eight anatomical structures, a few of which overlap. These are the:

Prosencephalon: forebrain. White matter: colored by the myelin sheaths of neurons. Gray matter: colored by neuronal cell bodies (soma). Limbic system: emotions and memory, behavior, and some autonomic functions. Glymphatic system: waste removal network of blood and lymph vessels. Cerebral ventricles: production of cerebrospinal fluid. Brain stem: controls vital autonomic functions, includes the cerebellum. Blood-brain barrier: protective barrier between the brain and the rest of the body.